Recognition for people making a difference to local healthcare

People making a difference to the health and wellbeing of local people have been celebrated at the annual general meetings of the three Bradford district and Craven clinical commissioning groups (CCGs).

NHS Airedale, Wharfedale and Craven, Bradford City and Bradford Districts CCGs wanted to recognise the hard work of NHS staff, volunteers and patients at their annual general meetings (AGMs) which were held in September. The awards are a celebration of the work of those people whose work often goes unrecognised.

Pam Essler, lay member, patient and public involvement, Airedale, Wharfedale and Craven CCG said: “The awards are a way of celebrating the success of individuals and teams who go above and beyond their day job to make a real difference to the people around them. It is great to see that there are so many patients on this list who take the time to work with their GP practices to improve and develop services for the wider population.”

David Richardson, lay member, patient and public involvement, Bradford Districts CCG said: “It is really important to be able to thank the people who quietly get on and help others around them as they often go under the radar without a chance to celebrate their achievements. All our winners – whether staff, volunteers or community champions – all play a key part in the health and care services provided in Bradford and district.”

Max Mclean, lay member, patient and public involvement, Bradford City CCG said: “These awards show how much commitment there is from staff, patients and the public to improve the experience of people using services in Bradford. I want to say well done to all the winners and thank you for all your hard work and dedication over the past year.”

The AGMs are attended by members of the public, patients, partners, volunteers, members of the CCGs’ and staff. It is also a chance to hear about the progress and plans, including the work that is being done to improve the quality of services for local people and address future challenges facing the NHS.

A tribute was also given to Isobel Scarborough who worked tirelessly across the district over a number of years to represent the views and experiences of the public at every opportunity. Isobel was a founding member of a number of local charities all of which supported the health and wellbeing of local people.

The winners are:

Practice volunteer

Barry Rogers – Dyneley House Surgery (Airedale, Wharfedale and Craven CCG)

Grange Medical Centre (Bradford City CCG)

Janet Menehbi and John Sheen – Rockwell Community Centre and Rockwell Medical Centre partnership – (Bradford Districts CCG)

Patient group

Practice health champions – Fisher Medical Centre (Airedale, Wharfedale and Craven CCG)

The patient participation group at Clarendon Medical Centre (Bradford City CCG)

The patient participation group at Springfield Surgery (Bradford Districts CCG)

Practice staff member / colleague

Lis Baxter – Kilmeny Group Medical Practice (Airedale, Wharfedale and Craven CCG)

Marie Stout – on behalf of Bradford Care Alliance (Bradford City and Bradford Districts CCG)

Sarah Rhodes – Barkerend Health Centre (Bradford City CCG)

Razan Begum – Bilton Medical Centre (Bradford City CCG)

Alan Bennett – Bowling Hall Medical Practice (Bradford Districts CCG)

Patient engagement lead (Bradford City CCG only)

Zara Bashir – Bilton Medical Centre

Nigel Bull – Kensington Partnership

CCG community partner / volunteer

Vicki Beere – Airedale, Wharfedale and Craven Health and Wellbeing Hub (Airedale, Wharfedale and Craven CCG)

Rebel and Harris – Sharing Voices (Bradford City and Bradford Districts CCGs)

Community Connectors – HALE and partners (Bradford City and Bradford Districts CCGs)

Achievement awards

Julie Winterbottom, Managing Partner, Westcliffe Care UK Ltd on behalf of the team at North Street Practice (Airedale, Wharfedale and Craven CCG)

The #selfcareeverywhere campaign group (Airedale, Wharfedale and Craven, Bradford City and Bradford Districts CCGs)

The patient network (Bradford City CCG)

Louise Keighley (Bradford City and Bradford Districts CCGs)

Wendy Parkin, patient chair of the steering group/network and chair of local patient participation group (Bradford Districts CCG)

Wibsey and Queensbury Medical Practice (Bradford Districts CCG)

Tong Medical Practice (Bradford Districts CCG)

Dr Jessica Drinkwater – Bowling Medical Practice (Bradford Districts CCG)


You can find out more about priorities and plans for each CCG in their annual reviews, available on each CCG website.